Thursday, 22 April 2021 06:15 GMT

Bolivian President Wins Third Term

(MENAFN - QNA) Bolivian President Evo Morales has won the third term in office with 61% of votes, the country's Supreme Electoral Tribunal said Sunday after counting 99,82% of all ballots.

The Tribunal's President Wilma Velasco said Morales was ahead of his main rival, businessman Samuel Doria Medina from the center-right National Unity Front, by 37%.

Earlier results showed that Medina gained 24% of votes, while the third contender, former Bolivian president Jorge Quiroga, won 9%.

On October 12, some 6.2 million Bolivians took to the polling stations to vote in a new president, a vice president, 130 members to the Chamber of Deputies and 36 senators.

Bolivia's socialist leader Morales was largely anticipated to win the third term, extending his time in office until January 2020.

Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.