Jury selects 2018 Zayed Future Energy Prize winners| MENAFN.COM

Monday, 04 July 2022 11:30 GMT

Jury selects 2018 Zayed Future Energy Prize winners

(MENAFN- Emirates News Agency (WAM))

ABU DHABI, 31st October, 2017 (WAM) -- The Jury of the Zayed Future Energy Prize convened to deliberate and select nine winners across its five categories today. The winners will be announced at the Prize awards ceremony on 15th January 2018 as part of Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week (ADSW).

The Prize recognises notable work carried out by businesses and individuals through the large corporation and lifetime achievement categories. Simultaneously, it serves to help small and medium enterprises and non-profit organisations scale their operations. The Prize also provides funding for high schools around the world to execute sustainable project plans that create a meaningful impact in their school and community.

Chair of the Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury and Former President of the Republic of Iceland, Olafur Ragnar Grimsson said, "This marks the 10th year of the Zayed Future Energy Prize sounding a call to resolve energy challenges, making Abu Dhabi the epicentre in driving progress in the field of renewable energy. In a decade, the Prize has created global impact on approximately 289 million lives through innovative solutions and implementation of new energy projects. Its past winners have since formed an international network that drives the clean energy transformation forward globally."

The Zayed Future Energy Prize was created to inspire the next generation of global energy innovators to push the boundaries of renewable energy and sustainable development and create novel solutions for a better tomorrow. Inspired by Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan's environmental stewardship, the Prize was created to not only honour but carry on his legacy in both the local and international arena.

Dr Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, UAE Minister of State and Director-General of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, said, "The Zayed Future Energy Prize is a testament to our late founding father Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan's life-long commitment to sustainable development. Marking the centenary of his birth, 2018 has been declared the Year of Zayed, in celebration of his visionary leadership. Over the last ten years, the winners recognised by the Zayed Future Energy Prize have made an extraordinary impact on the economies and societies across the globe. We look forward to the next decade of the prize continuing to achieve the goals of our collective sustainable future."

As many as 34 finalists vied to win the 2018 Zayed Future Energy Prize. The finalists in the Non-Profit Organisation category included groups focused on expanding solar solutions and empowering women entrepreneurs in 'last-mile' communities, as well as financing renewable and sustainable energy systems for low-income households in India. The Small and Medium Enterprise category finalists demonstrated the innovation and expansion taking place in the solar power market through projects focused on the creation of smart solar street lighting, solar home systems and utility services, and solar wafers using more cost and energy-efficient processes.

The Jury meeting marks the completion of a thorough and stringent four-stage evaluation process. In its 10th cycle, the Zayed Future Energy Prize reached a record number of 2,296 entries from more than 112 countries worldwide.

The Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury includes former heads of state, leading energy experts and world-renowned personalities committed to the global effort of accelerating the adoption of renewable energy and advocating for sustainable development. In addition to Gr?msson, the Jury includes: Vice-Chair Dr. Han Seung-Soo, former Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea; Felipe Calderon, former President of Mexico; Adnan Z. Amin, Director General of the International Renewable Energy Agency; Shamma Al Mazrui, Minister of State for Youth Affairs, United Arab Emirates Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh, Chairman of Abu Dhabi Global Market; Sir Richard Branson, Founder of Virgin Group; Dr. Kandeh Yumkella, former Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Sustainable Energy for All

WAM/Tariq alfaham/Hassan Bashir


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.