Oman Cricket: Oddedara and Shaik bowl Al Turki to victory ov...| MENAFN.COM

Friday, 01 July 2022 01:00 GMT

Oman Cricket: Oddedara and Shaik bowl Al Turki to victory over PTI

(MENAFN- Muscat Daily) A superb spell of bowling by Al Turki NMC's Jay Oddedara (4-18) and Gulam Shaik (3-10) helped their team inflict an eight-wicket defeat on Passage to India Restaurant (PTI) in an Oman Cricket (OC) Premier Division match that was marred by a controversial hit-wicket dismissal of Al Turki's batsman at Al Amerat on Friday.

Bowling first, Al Turki bowlers struck early as PTI collapsed to 55 for five before being bowled out for 101 in 36.5 overs. Zeeshan Siddiqui (44) and skipper Syed Amir Kaleem (24) were the only batsmen to offer some resistance as Oddedara and Shaik ran through the PTI innings.

Al Turki lost both its openers Ajay Lalcheta and Twinkle Bhandari and was 47 for two but a 55-run fourth-wicket partnership between Shaik (29) and Suraj Kumar (34) led their team to an easy win in the 25th over.

Controversial 'hit-wicket' dismissal

The match recorded history for OC, literally, as it was the first match to be recorded by the OC after it had installed video cameras at the Al Amerat main ground.

The match between Al Turki and PTI witnessed a controversial dismissal of Bhandari after the PTI wicketkeeper and national team skipper, Sultan Ahmed, appealed for an 'hit-wicket' dismissal that was successfully upheld by the umpires.

However, an unofficial video footage that went viral on Friday clearly showed that the bails were dislodged by the keeper himself while appealing for a leg-before decision off the bowling of Jaymin Tailor before seeking a hit-wicket dismissal.

Anantha Kumar Rajamani was the umpire end and after consulting his colleague at short-leg, Azad Kumar, upheld the PTI's hit-wicket appeal against Bhandari.

Commenting on an incident, Duleep Mendis, the OC chief development officer said, 'We are awaiting the match referee's [A R Srinivasan] report along with the official version of the video footage recorded by our cameras.'

Brief scores: Passage to India 101 all out in 36.5 overs (Siddiqui 44, Kaleem 24; Oddedara 4-18, Shaik 3-10) lost to Al Turki CT 102-2 in 24.3 overs (Kumar 34, Shaik 29).

Other results: A Division:

Muscat Projects and Environment 180 all out in 45.2 overs (Melwin Mathew 58, Arun Dev 40; Muhammed Rizwan 2-23,Vineet Rana 2-23, Sunil Baby 2-24, Adil Mohammed 2-42) lost to Glory Bower Strikers 183-4 in 33.4 overs (Nidhin Mohan 62, Adil Mohammed 51, Ruban Durai 46; Muhammed Waqas 2-34).

B Division: FAP UTSC 212-7 in 30 overs (Jaleel Mahmood 41, Shameer Kariadan 32, Sheriff Muhammed 31; Bharat Barmeda 2-38) lost to Muscat Cricket Sports 216-7 in 29.4 overs (Abrar Hussain 51, Mohsin Nazir 45; Shaid K 2-38).

MCCC New 183 all out in 29.5 overs (Saifullah 50, Rajan Berry 46, Mohammed Samir 32; Shrey Wilson 4-34, Ansar Raza 2-31, Puneet Singh 2-33) beat ISC 171 all out in 29.3 overs (Mohit Gulabsi 38; Muqeet Ahmed 3-33, Siddh Hemal Mehta 2-28, Samir 2-32).

Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.