Qatar- Envoy hosts WISE Prize for Education Jury| MENAFN.COM

Tuesday, 28 June 2022 08:49 GMT

Qatar- Envoy hosts WISE Prize for Education Jury

(MENAFN- The Peninsula) The Peninsula

The Qatari Ambassador to Germany, Sheikh Saoud bin Abdulrahman Al Thani, hosted the WISE Prize for Education Jury for its final deliberations meeting at the Arab Culture House, Villa Cale, in Berlin recently.

The WISE Prize for Education Laureate will be announced and introduced at the World Innovation Summit for Education 2017, which is taking place in Doha from November 14-16. The Prize is the premier recognition of an individual or team for outstanding, life-long achievement in any field of education. The Laureate(s) receive the specially designed WISE Prize for Education gold medal, and an award of US$500,000.

Ambassador Al Thani, the WISE Prize Jury, members of the WISE team, and guests were also honoured at a high-level roundtable discussion on today's global education challenges at the Bundestag Germany's federal parliament. Jürgen Klimke, a member of the Bundestag representing Hamburg, hosted the gathering.

At the Bundestag, Klimke welcomed the guests and spoke briefly of his involvement in exchanges with the MENA region, particularly within the context of the 2017 Germany-Qatar Year of Culture. He noted his interest in education challenges facing his country, and Germany's role in supporting education causes globally.

Sheikh Saoud bin Abdulrahman Al Thani also addressed the roundtable, welcoming the WISE Prize Jury and noting the strong ties between Qatar and Germany as indicated by the several high-level visits and meaningful exchanges over recent years.

Stavros N. Yiannouka, CEO, WISE, a member of Qatar Foundation (QF), outlined the work of WISE, including the WISE Prize for Education and other initiatives. The members of the 2017 WISE Prize for Education Jury are, Dr Jِrg Drنger, Member of the Executive Board, Bertelsmann Foundation (Germany), Sheikha Hanadi bint Nasser bin Khaled Al Thani, Founder and Chairperson, Amwal (Qatar), Dr. Madhav Chavan, President, Pratham Education Foundation (India) and Vicky Colbert, Founder and Director, Fundaciَn Escuela Nueva (Colombia). Yiannouka chaired the WISE Prize Jury deliberations. Dr Chavan and Colbert are themselves WISE Prize for Education Laureates.


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.