Friday, 03 December 2021 10:30 GMT

Qatar Airways congratulates winner of squash championship

(MENAFN- The Peninsula) The Peninsula

Qatar Airways has congratulated Mohamed El Shorbagy, winner of the Qatar Classic Squash Championship 2017. The top Egyptian player was one of 32 who gathered in Doha from around the world to take part in the highly-popular tournament. Qatar Airways displayed its award-winning hospitality during the exciting World Series Tournament, which took place from 29 October until November 3, 2017.
Some of the world's top squash professionals competed for the coveted total prize of $165,000 the largest award in the tournament's history. Qatar Airways cabin crew presented the winning trophy to Mohamed ElShorbagy, who won with a resounding 3-1 victory over close rival Tarek Momen, during the final match on Friday, 3 November 2017 at Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex.
Qatar Airways Group Chief Executive, Akbar Al Baker, said: 'Qatar Airways was delighted to sponsor the Qatar Classic Squash Championship, which welcomed visitors from around the world to this highly-successful tournament. Qatar Airways has long been a global ambassador for sport and strongly believes in its ability to bring people together from nations all over the world, united in a common purpose.
'Without any doubt, the 2017 Qatar Classic has exceeded our expectations. From the attendance to the organisation, as well as the enthusiasm of the fans, the tournament has been a resounding success, said Nasser bin Ghanim Al Khelaifi, President, Qatar Squash Federation.
'Of course, we wouldn't have been able to achieve all these without the tremendous efforts of the wonderful organising committee as well as the great support of our sponsors, including Qatar's world-class airline, Qatar Airways. I am indeed grateful to them for partnering with us to achieve this great feat, he said.
This year's Qatar Classic Squash Championship featured a number of the world's top squash players, including Gregory Gaultier, Karim Abdel Gawad, Marwan Elshorbagy, Ali Farag, Tarek Momen, Nick Mathew and James Willstrop among others, who all came together to participate in the Squash Championship.


Legal Disclaimer:
MENAFN provides the information “as is” without warranty of any kind. We do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, images, videos, licenses, completeness, legality, or reliability of the information contained in this article. If you have any complaints or copyright issues related to this article, kindly contact the provider above.