Sunday, 24 June 2018 07:24 GMT

Russia, Turkey, Iran Finally Agree on Idlib Safe Zone in Syria

(MENAFN - Jordan News Agency) Moscow, Sept. 15 (Petra)-- Russia, Turkey and Iran have agreed on all four safe zones in Syria, including on the Idlib de-escalation area, the Kazakh Foreign Ministry confirmed after a joint statement was issued.

Astana emphasized that the creation of safe zones is a temporary measure, Sputnik reported.

Moreover, the guarantor states of the ceasefire in Syria decided to "form Joint Iranian-Russian-Turkish Coordination Center aimed at coordinating activities of de-escalation control forces in the de-escalation areas." Russia pays particular attention to the detainee issue in Syria and will make additional efforts to resolve it upon the request of the Syrian armed opposition, Russian delegation head at Astana talks Alexander Lavrentyev said.

All three ceasefire guarantor states Russia, Iran and Turkey – will deploy observer units to monitor a de-escalation zone in Syria's Idlib, Lavrentyev said. Earlier in the day, a source in one of the delegations told Sputnik that Russian and Iranian forces will monitor areas controlled by the government side in the Idlib safe zone, while the Turkish forces will be involved in monitoring the opposition there.

15/9/2017 - 05:21:22 PM


Russia, Turkey, Iran Finally Agree on Idlib Safe Zone in Syria

  Most popular stories  

Day | Week | Month